Five Champions back to fight for Tashkent Open crown

5 September 2014

By Tashkent Open 2014 Media Team.

September 5 :   Five ex winners including  defending champion  Bojana Jovanovski of Serbia  along with her country mate and US open quarterfinalist Aleksandra Krunic will be seen in action at  the 16th edition of  Tashkent Open WTA Championships one of the biggest tennis events of Central  .
The event will kick off with the qualifying rounds at the Olympic School of Tennis on the weekend of 6th September will be followed by the main draw Monday 8th September onwards

 Bojana Jovanovski of Serbia who won the title last year and  currently ranked 36 will be highest ranked player at the event followed by 2012 winner  Romanian  Irina - Camelia Begu (61) and runners-up in 2012 Italian Karin Knapp (71) ,  Spaniard Lara Arruabarrena (75) ,  upcoming Croatian Star Donna Vekic (79)  are the top ranked players  who have confirmed their participation 

The event will also have last year's finalist Belarusian Olga Govortsova , along with  Israel's Shahar Peer( Winner 2009),  Russian Alla Kudryavtseva ( Winner 2010) and Ksenia Pervak (2011) coming back and hoping a good result ,  though  the history of the last 15 years at the Tashkent Open has seen that no champion has ever  defended their singles crown.

 The event that began as a international tennis women competition in 1996 has now blossomed into one of the best organized and hospitable events on the WTA calendar will have players representing over 22 countries in the main and the qualifying draw. The organizers awarded the wildcards in the qualifiers to local Uzbek girl Arina Folts and Ani Vangelova of Bulgaria   Four players from the qualifiers will make it to the Main draw

Following are the seeding for the Qualifying Rounds
Lesia Tsurenko (Ukr), Yulia Putintseva (Kaz), Maryna Zanevska (Ukr), Marta Sirotkina (Rus), Nadiia Kichenok (Ukr)  Hiroko Kuwata (Jpn), Lyudmyla Kichenok (Ukr), Risa Ozaki (Jpn) 

Following are The winners of the last 15 editions :
Anna Smashnova (Israel), Iroda Tulyaganova ( Uzbekistan) , Bianka Lamade (Germany), Mariah G Mikaelian (Switzerland), Virginia Ruano Pascual (Spain), Nicole Vadisova (Czech Republic) , Tian Tian Sun (China), Pauline Parmentier (France),’s Sorena Cirstea (Romania) , Shahar Peer (Israel) , Alla Kudryatseva (Russia) ,  Ksenia Pervak ( Russia) , Irina- Camelia Begu ( Romania) , Bojana Jovanovski ( Srb)