Interview of the day. Olesya Kim

30 September, 17:29

Olesya Kim ended runners up at the WTA Future Stars event at Singapore last year  , just 15 years old Olesya has her path charted out and looks forward to becoming one of the top most tennis players in the world.

Ranked around 428 in the juniors ranking, the young star has made her Senior debut even winning a round in ITF womens event in Kazakhstan this year. The UTF awarded A wildcard in the qualifiers to Olesya, she did not in her match but won hearts of tennis lovers.

Sunder Iyer of the Tashkent Open Media Team spoke to Olesya on the sidelines of the Tashkent Open.


On the WTA future stars experience in Singapore? 


It was a great experience , I didn't expect to reach the finals ,  I tried to watch matches of professional tennis players and learns a lot from the event .

 

Her Favorite player?

Gabrine Muguruza is my favorite player , I was happy to talk to her , she also  presented me with an  autographed racquet which is my most cherished possession , I want to play like 

 

How was debut experience at Tashkent Open?

I would like to thank the organizers for the Wildcard in the qualifying round ,  I never expected to get wild card it was a  big experience for me I think I played well/

How Is watching the Professional players at Tashkent Open helping you?

I'm Watching all matches here, after seeing the matches I think I should play aggressive and improve my forehand  and service


What’s your aim?

My short term aim is Playing more ITF juniors events this year trying to getting nearer to playing qualifying of Australian juniors event if not this year , next year for sure .  and My Long term aim in life is to play the WTA tour and be one of the top most tennis player in the world.

About managing your studies?

I'm in school and miss it many times because of traveling , my Mother IIliana and father Radion have been big support and help me to manages  studies  and   tennis ,  I play 6-7 hours  a day and also study with a private tutor.

You have already started traveling for events, which city have you liked most?

Singapore is my most favorite city

Kristyna
Pliskova

Date of Birth: 21 Mar 1992
Birthplace: Louny, Czech Republic
Height: 6’ (1.84 m)
Plays: Left-handed
WTA Singles Ranking: 40 (As of August 14, 2017)



free counters